Journalism Has Made For Quite A Year​

photo of GLV Certified Wrtier Cert.

My certificate of completion for Boot Camp.

I began a journalist’s writing course with Guardian Liberty Voice called Graduate Writer’s Boot Camp in June 2015. It was an experience that I will never regret. The program was supposed to be two weeks long, however, due to many circumstances it took me longer.

Quitting was not an option for me. Initially, I began as a way to build my portfolio, and it was not long before my feelings had changed. I wanted to be a journalist, so I made the needed changes in my writing style and my life to dedicate myself to be the best writer I could.

Once I became a certified writer and negotiated a contract I was surprised to find my skills had grown exponentially. My first articles are an embarrassment, but I have moved forward.

Not surprisingly, my focus was U.S. News and Entertainment. My passion is Politics. I was offered the position of Senior Political Editor. The thing that did surprise me was that I was asked to become the Assistant Director of Education!

I found that I love teaching. Although, this should not have been a surprise since I have racked up many hours tutoring ESL and English. There are days that wear me down and students who try my nerves, but I still enjoy my job.

The one drawback of teaching is I do not seem to have enough time for my writing. As a journalist, with press credentials, I have tried to get out into the community to do reports. I have interviewed people and have not submitted anything for publication. So, I write when I can. My breaking news articles are one way I can express myself on a news basis.

I have begun to post my articles on a Facebook Page called “Journalist Cathy Milne.” Frackle Media Group also has several other sites, another site my articles can be found is The Public Slate. I have also begun to use a hashtag so readers can locate me anywhere on the internet – #CMJournalist.

Here are some of my most recent posts:

Frackle Media Group is a “member program” not an employment program, and we are paid for reader views (pay-per-click commissions). I do receive a stipend for my position as an educator, but my primary pay is my commissions. As a freelance writer, that means self-promotion, so I will continue to promote here and on Facebook.

Ta-Ta for now, Cathy

About Cathy Milne-Ware

Sentry News founder and Freelance content creator. Contributor at Guardian Liberty Voice and The News School. Cathy writes Health, Entertainment, Christian Faith, and U.S. News articles. All aspects of Politics fascinate her.
This entry was posted in #CMJournalist, Journalism, My writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!